Random Rambling

I have been absent from the blogging world for twenty one months. A lot of life has happened in that time. Lately, life has been about learning for me. Learning how to be a better wife, mother, friend, employee and leader. Some of this learning came from positive experiences that I welcomed, other learning opportunities were painful and unexpected. Why is it so easy to forget about or ignore what I’ve learned and default to old ways? Some days I reflect on what I’ve learned and make the right decisions based on the experiences I’ve had and the changes I’ve made. Other days, I feel like I’m regressing. Unfortunately, today was one of those days. I had very little patience with my girls. I started a fight with my husband for no good reason. I allowed myself to focus on the negative things and have a pessimistic outlook that lasted most of the day. Learning is easy; implementation is the hard part. I have learned a lot recently. I’ve learned about many different things, including: people, love, forgiveness, patience, joy, parenting and myself. I am all for learning new things daily, but what’s the point if that’s where it ends? It’s time to focus my attention and energy on what comes after the lesson. I need to implement. Defaults can be changed, right? I want to default to patience, optimism and joy in the midst of trials. These defaults won’t change themselves though.

Enter: intentional implementation.

More on that to come in my next post. Let’s hope it doesn’t take me 21 months to write.

6 Responses to Random Rambling

  1. I am so proud of you and your ability to self-direct! This is awesome, Mrs. Vangen!

  2. darla says:

    I remember being a young mom and feeling like I messed up so much. I love your posts. It seems like there are always things in them that I can apply to my walk on earth.
    You have your head on right. and your heart in the right places.

    • nrvangen says:

      Thank you for the comment, Darla! It’s encouraging to hear that someone out there reads my thoughts and is able to apply them to their life. God bless!

  3. Darla Lyndgaard says:

    I enjoy your posts and have missed them. You always have things to say that I can apply to areas of my life. Darla

  4. Naomi says:

    Good to see you putting pen to paper again! Implementation! YES!!!
    Love you, #1!!

Leave a comment