Intentional Implementation

Once again, I find myself starting a blog post by bringing attention to how long it has been since I’ve written (7 months). Sigh… I enjoy writing. It’s on my to do list 2 or 3 times each week. I am repeatedly guilty of pushing it off until tomorrow. Honestly, I’m only writing now because I can’t sleep. My husband, Dylan, hurt his leg while playing basketball last night. We aren’t sure what is wrong. Right now I’m just thankful he’s snoring (it’ll likely be a long time before I say that again).

Anyway, let’s get to the point. I’ve thought a lot over the last 7 months about what my defaults are when I face the various experiences life offers. I am not usually happy with the attitude and response I default to when things don’t go the way I would like them to. Sometimes I just want to be crabby. Please tell me I’m not the only one. I did have a win in this area this past Sunday. I was walking into church with my family and I said to Dylan, “it seems to be typical for me to be crabby in the morning.” He quietly agreed. Then, I made the decision not to be. It was very simple. Nothing serious had occurred that morning. I didn’t have a reason to be crabby. That insinuates there is a time to be crabby, but that’s a topic for another post. I recognized something in myself that is ugly, as I often do. I decided that I wanted my morning to be full of peace and joy so I changed my mindset. It really was as simple as making a decision to be happy and enjoy my day. I need to do that more often. I am excited about this win. It is exactly what I’ve been working on lately. It’s my intentional implementation in action. I noticed an area of weakness in myself and instead of defaulting to my normal response, I thoughtfully decided to respond differently. I know it’s very trivial. I also know that each day is made up of a large number of small decisions. What small decision did you make recently that you need to celebrate?

I apologize for any spelling or grammatical errors. It is 2am and I’m not going to proof and tweak as much as I normally would. Good night!

Leave a Reply

