Fitness Monday – Exercise isn’t enough

This blog is made up of my experiences in 5 different areas that begin with the letter F. If you haven’t already, check out my intro post.

Fitness is one of my F words. My interpretation of the word fitness involves more than just exercise. I believe fitness is a lifestyle. Your eating habits, the frequency and intensity of your workouts, the amount of sleep you get and your mindset are all components of your level of fitness.

The food thing is the hardest part for me. I know what I should do and what I should eat, but I don’t always do it. Too often, I choose the meal that will give me temporary satisfaction. It’s so easy to do what feels good in the moment. In the long run, I always regret loading up on foods that have little to no nutritional value. I am ready to make some significant changes in this area. Check future blogs for more on this.

I love exercising. My workout routines include: running, lifting, sports, cross fit and more. The hard part for me when it comes to exercising is the scheduling issue. I don’t always make time to exercise. I know that needs to change.

I usually get 7 – 8 hours of sleep each night so I think I’m doing well in this area. I could handle getting to bed and waking up earlier. I’ll work on that.

I believe that I have a positive mindset. I know that I can achieve my fitness goals. I try to surround myself with positive reinforcements. If you are defeated mentally before you begin a new fitness endeavor, you are bound to fail. If you believe in yourself, encourage yourself and keep a positive mindset, you’ll succeed.

What one thing can you do today that will increase your level of fitness?

Leave a Reply

