Why is it so easy to be stubborn?

Does anyone have a good answer to this question? I would consider paying money to get one.

So often I find myself sporting the unattractive accessory known as stubbornness. I want what I want because I think it’s best. There isn’t a chance that the suggestions others bring up will come close to being as smart or efficient as my idea. Ha. I know I’m fooling myself when I think these thoughts. Unfortunately, what I know does not always transfer over into how I act.

I will say that I have identified my stubbornness as an issue that I need to pay attention to. Also, I believe there is a positive equivalent to the word stubborn. This quote from Jeb Bush adequately conveys my feelings on that, “There’s a fine line between stubbornness and the positive side of that, which is dogged determination.” I am actively working on placing myself on the right side of that line.

If you are willing, please share some of your stories about this topic in the comments.

One Response to Why is it so easy to be stubborn?

  1. I can relate, as I’m sure many others will as well. I have worked hard to keep myself small in my own eyes and the needs of others a greater priority. I remember a time I was struggling in an area and it seemed like it was a problem I had dealt with repeatedly. In my frustration, i said, “God, why is it that I have to go through this issue over and over again?!” Immediately, the first word that jumped into my thoughts was, “Selfishness.” This was not exactly what I had hoped to hear. However, when I looked carefully at my circumstances I became aware that this was a key ingredient, and so I needed to deal with it and work to change my attitude and my triggered response. For me it was a good answer, and in the long run I was glad I had found it. I pray your answer brings you the same satisfaction.

Leave a Reply

